Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
04 June Monday

Michael Ondaatje in conversation with David Chariandy

04 June 2018, 19:30 - 04 June 2018, 21:30
St. Andrew’s Wesley United Church, 1022 Nelson St
Vancouver, BC V6E 4SF Canada

Presented by Vancouver Writers Fest in association with Indian Summer Festival

Monday, June 4, 2018 at 7:30pm
St. Andrew’s Wesley-United Church
 

From the internationally acclaimed, bestselling author of The English Patient. Michael Ondaatje’s mesmerizing new novel, Warlight, tells a dramatic story set in the decade after World War II through the lives of a small group of unexpected characters and two teenagers whose lives are indelibly shaped by their unwitting involvement.

In a narrative as beguiling and mysterious as memory itself—shadowed and luminous at once—we read the story of fourteen-year-old Nathaniel, and his older sister, Rachel. In 1945, just after World War II, they stay behind in London when their parents move to Singapore, leaving them in the care of a mysterious figure named The Moth. They suspect he might be a criminal, and they grow both more convinced and less concerned as they come to know his eccentric crew of friends. A dozen years later, Nathaniel begins to uncover all that he didn’t know and understand in that time, and it is this journey—through facts, recollection, and imagination—that he narrates in this masterwork from one of the great writers of our time.

Join the winner of the Booker Prize, Irish Times International Fiction Prize, Giller Prize and the Prix Médicis for a fascinating conversation with David Chariandy about Warlight and Michael Ondaatje’s writing career to date.

 

Details
Date: June 4, 2018
Time: 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Cost: $15 – $50
Event CategoryLiterature
Venue
Address: 1022 Nelson St
Vancouver, BC V6E 4SF Canada

+ Google Map
Organizer
Organizer Name: The Vancouver Writers Fest
Phone: 604-681-6330
Email:

Past Events

November 2020

20 November Friday

ISF+: A Special Performance Of Anosh Irani’s ‘Buffoon’

20 November 2020, 20:00 - 20 November 2020, 22:00
Arts Club Theatre, 2750 Granville Street
Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3J3 Canada
04 November Wednesday

Indian Summer Festival Digital Auction

04 November 2020, 10:00 - 14 November 2020, 22:00

September 2020

30 September Wednesday

ISF+: Minahil Bukhari & Mustaali Raj’s ‘JAALI’ project

30 September 2020, 17:00 - 30 September 2020, 18:00
07 September Monday

ISF+: Homeland Elegies – Ayad Akhtar in conversation with Sirish Rao

07 September 2020, 10:30 - 07 September 2020, 11:30

July 2020

18 July Saturday

ISF2020: 10th Anniversary Closing Party

18 July 2020, 19:00 - 18 July 2020, 21:00
11 July Saturday
04 July Saturday

ISF2020: Tiffin Talks – Zanani / Zamana / Zameen

04 July 2020, 12:00 - 04 July 2020, 14:00

June 2020

27 June Saturday

ISF2020: 5×15 Global Edition

27 June 2020, 11:00 - 27 June 2020, 12:30
20 June Saturday
14 June Sunday

Mandala Workshop with Sheniz Janmohamed #ISFMandalaProject

14 June 2020, 12:30 - 14 June 2020, 13:30
13 June Saturday

ISF2020: Night of the Raga

13 June 2020, 07:01 - 13 June 2020, 21:00
09 June Tuesday

May 2020

30 May Saturday

ISF2020: It Could Be Verse: Poetry for a Pandemic

30 May 2020, 19:01 - 30 May 2020, 20:00
23 May Saturday
16 May Saturday

ISF2020: Beginnings – Sonic Tributes

16 May 2020, 19:01 - 16 May 2020, 20:00

April 2020

24 April Friday

ISF+ World Premiere: Wayfinder by Mohamed Assani

24 April 2020, 19:00 - 24 April 2020, 22:00